Uprooting a Version Tree!

What happens if the root version (1.0, one whose object id is same as its chronicle id) in a version tree is destroyed? It is an important object and may be referred to via the chronicle id of the other objects in the version tree.

In this situation, Content Server does not remove the object from the repository. Instead, it marks the object as deleted (i_is_deleted=TRUE) and removes its associated objects from the repository. The server also unlinks the object from all cabinet/folder locations and places it in the Temp cabinet. If the object is current (has version label CURRENT), it moves that label to the last modified version in the tree (highest r_modify_date).

More information on destroying objects can be found in the Content Server Fundamentals guide.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s