Using Netflix from PS3 through the DIR-655 Router

First a caveat, this solution may be addressing a generic situation rather than my specific setup. However, this is my exact setup so I wanted to be specific about it.

I have experienced sluggish connection from PS3 to Netflix and many times it had been quite frustrating to be stuck at the initial screen while all other devices on my home network would be accessing the internet fine. I could even stream Netflix to my laptop without any problems.

Finally, I started researching the problem and the fix that worked for me was quite simple. On the PS3, I specified the DNS server manually to be the resolver1.opendns.com IP (208.67.222.222). Before this, I hadn’t specified this setting and it was probably picking the default ones from the ISP.

Here is another discussion on the topic.

Leave a Reply

